Stitch Fix Review – August 2015

After much consideration, I finally took a leap of faith and ordered my first Stitch Fix! Stitch Fix (<–referral link!) is part of a growing trend of subscription boxes, in which you pay a flat fee per month and receive a box full of unique items. There are boxes available for every sort of interest from kid’s toys to clothing to beauty products to wine!

Stitch Fix is marketed as a personal styling service and is ideal for someone like me, who hates shopping, never tries anything out of my comfort zone, and has no idea how to style the pieces I actually own! It’s also great if you don’t have time to shop, are looking for specific items each season, or just love new clothing in general!  When you sign up, you take an in-depth survey about your clothing sizes, style, and pricing preferences. After reviewing this information, your personal stylist will send you 5 items to try. The fee for this service is $20, which includes free shipping and free returns. If you keep any of the items they send you, you get to deduct the $20 fee from the total. (If you keep all five items, you also get a 25% discount!)

20150812_170204

Now that you have all the basics… on to my experience! I sent a note to my stylist specifically asking for options for a fall wedding and no dress pants/jeans. I also created a Pinterest board to share with her and pinned examples of jewelry, dresses, and other outfits that I liked. I would highly recommend taking the time to do this to ensure you get pieces you’ll consider wearing. It was clearly worthwhile when I read the letter from my stylist and began opening up my box!

20150812_170450

I have to admit, I was counting down the days until this box arrived. The anticipation certainly makes the whole process more exciting! When you receive your box, you have three days to decide what items you want to keep and what items you want to return. There is a “Checkout” option in your online account to let them know what you’re keeping (and paying for) and provide feedback on all the clothes. This is another great opportunity to tell your stylist about your likes/dislikes. Your credit card is only charged for the items you keep (minus the $20 styling fee!). A USPS bag (for the free shipping) is provided in the box to return the other items.

20150812_170627

Here’s what I received in my first box:

Medici Crew Neck Top ($48) – I loved the pattern and the material, but it was too boxy when I actually put it on. I would have preferred if it was more fitted at the waist. RETURN

20150812_170859

Shalley Split Neck Blouse ($48) – Again, I liked the pattern but it was way too voluminous and not fitted at all. RETURN

20150812_171212

Tiffa Long Leaf Necklace ($28) – I absolutely love this necklace! I don’t have anything like it and it looked great with the blue dress I plan to keep. KEEP

DSC01498

 

Lex Textured Floral Knit Fit & Flare Dress ($74) – The dark blue in this dress shows up more in real life than it does in the picture. Plus, it’s lined and actually long enough for me. I’m planning to keep it and wear it to the fall wedding : ) KEEP

DSC01572

 

Callaway Textured Dress ($88) – This dress was very cute, but I already have a white summer dress and it was a bit short (plus I wouldn’t want to wear off-white to a wedding, right??). RETURN

20150812_171144

Overall, I thought this whole process was terrific! I was eagerly anticipating the arrival of my first box and ended up pretty happy with the pieces in it. The only real issue with anything was the fit. The price points are a bit high, but the quality seemed decent and I’m willing to pay a bit more for something I love (and don’t have to shop for myself!)

Check out my other Stitch Fix reviews below:

Stitch Fix – October 2015

Stitch Fix – December 2015

2 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review – August 2015

Leave a Reply

