Book Sale Buys – August 2015

20150822_092501I have a serious weakness for library book sales. The combination of extremely cheap books and lots of variety, all while supporting the local library is too good to pass up. When I moved, I was very concerned about giving up a spectacular twice yearly book sale at the library near my old apartment. Unexpectedly, my new church came through for me. They recently hosted a book sale for a local library and, though not quite as sprawling as what I was used to, it was certainly a sufficient replacement. Here’s what I scooped up for only $8!

The Crucible by Arthur Miller – This caught my eye in the Classics section once I realized it was set in New England. I’m hoping to read this before we head up there on our road trip. I’m also planning to use this to check off “Read a play” on my reading challenge (more to come on that next week).

This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz – This book has been on my To Read list for a while, but I haven’t yet followed through and borrowed it from the library. Since it was only $1, I decided to just grab it here.

Winter’s Bone by Daniel Woodrell – This purchase was based solely on the fact that Jennifer Lawrence portrayed the main character in the movie. I know that’s a ridiculous reason for buying a book, but what can I say, I trust her 🙂

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion – I finished this novel about a month ago and look forward to reading it again someday. It’s a sweet and easy read with a main character who is frustrating, yet lovable.

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay – I have to go reread the back cover because I can’t remember what the book is about. Ok, here we go, a young Jewish girl and her parents are taken from their home by the police in 1942, but she manages to lock her little brother in a secret hiding place to keep him safe. The story continues sixty years later when the girl’s life somehow becomes intertwined with an American journalist. I am fascinated by tales set during the Holocaust, so this seems right up my alley. On that note, I’d also highly recommend The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom. That true story about a woman’s unshakable faith despite the horrors she faced is inspiring.

This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald – Finally expanding my F. Scott Fitzgerald horizons beyond the Great Gatsby.

A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore – I was unfamiliar with this book, but the back cover intrigued me. “Tassie, the daughter of a gentleman farmer, has come to a university town as a student. When at twenty she takes a job as a part-time nanny for a glamorous and mysterious family, she finds herself drawn deeper into their world and changed forever. A piercing novel of race, class, love, and war in America.”

All He Ever Wanted by Anita Shreve – I’ve only read one other Shreve novel, the Pilot’s Wife, and I vaguely remember liking it, so I thought it was time to give her another try. This tale deals with love, obsession, and how two lives can change forever after one chance meeting.

The Dress Lodger by Sheri Holman – Historical fiction set during the cholera outbreak in England in 1831. I’m still trying to figure out what a dress lodger actually is, but the story sounds full of intrigue and drama.

The Authoritative Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson – Mini confession: I adore Calvin and Hobbes. It is one of the only comics I find consistently funny and touching. Naturally, I’m thrilled whenever I find another book to add to my collection!

As a bonus, I just found out I won a $20 gift card through another local library’s summer reading program. Guess what the gift card is for?? That’s right, their library book sale. Bring on the books!

Do you typically buy books that you’re familiar with or take a chance on new ones that catch your eye? What are some of your recent purchases?

 

3 thoughts on “Book Sale Buys – August 2015

  1. I’ve recently bought two books:
    1)Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
    2)Fallen by Lauren Kate
    They both just caught my eye. It was like an invisible pull. Awesome post! I’m glad you can buy more books now!
    And, please do check out my blog as well! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

