Book Challenge 2015

I realize I’m starting this a bit late, but I keep seeing it pop up (thanks Michelle!) and I’m finally intrigued enough to dive in. I guess it will just be a “see how fast I can get through it” challenge instead of a calendar year one. Plus it’s my birthday soon, so I can do what I want! Let the clock start now!

The basic premise behind this book list is to force a reader out of their normal habits and expand their horizons to different authors, genres, etc (all of which are things I desperately need to do). More importantly, it just sounds fun J Plus, I’m hoping if I document my progress here, I might actually hold myself accountable to finish it (even despite the short story and graphic novel that I’m dreading).

Here is the list (with possible books / comments added by yours truly)

  • A book by a female author
  • A mystery or thriller
  • A book with a one-word title
  • A nonfiction book
  • A popular author’s first book
  • A book a friend recommended
  • A Pulitzer Prize-winning book
  • A book based entirely on its cover
  • A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t (what happens if I actually read all the books I was supposed to in school…I’ll just pick a classic)
  • A book set in the future
  • A book with a color in the title
  • A book you own but have never read
  • A book that takes place in your hometown
  • A book originally written in another language
  • A banned book
  • A book you started but never finished (Dracula or War and Peace? Dracula it is!)
  • A book with more than 500 pages
  • A classic romance
  • A book that became a movie
  • A book published this year
  • A book with a number in the title
  • A book written by someone under 30
  • A book with nonhuman characters
  • A funny book
  • A book of short stories (gag)
  • A book set in a different country
  • A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet (Kate Morton here I come)
  • A book based on a true story
  • A book at the bottom of your to-read list
  • A book your mom loves
  • A book that scares you
  • A book more than 100 years old
  • A memoir
  • A book you can finish in a day
  • A book with antonyms in the title
  • A book by an author with your same initials (anyone know of any?? I need an RH)
  • A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit
  • A book that came out the year you were born
  • A book with bad reviews
  • A trilogy
  • A book from your childhood
  • A book with a love triangle
  • A book set in high school
  • A book that made you cry
  • A book with magic
  • A graphic novel (does a comic book count?)
  • A book by an author you’ve never read before
  • A book set during Christmas (very excited for this!)
  • A play
  • A book based on or turned into a TV show

Phew, that’s a lot of books! Time to get started with The Shining. Let’s hope it doesn’t end up in the freezer…

 

One thought on “Book Challenge 2015

  1. Hahaha! You would be the one to read everything in school! 🙂 I, on the other hand, read nothing in high school – so my options are limitless with that one. I’m actually really excited about that because there are a lot of classics I want to read. Looking forward to all of your reviews!

    Like

Leave a Reply

