Reading Challenge Update #1

With one week under my belt, I wanted to check in on my progress with the Reading Challenge. So far, I finished one book (The Shining!) and started a few others. I’m also gathering ideas of which books I want to read for certain categories:

  • A book that scares you – The Shining by Stephen King. I really enjoyed the book… and then watched the movie and couldn’t believe how different it was.
  • A book based entirely on its cover – All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes. I was killing time in Barnes and Noble recently and noticed this book in the bargain section for only $5. Naturally, I wrote down the title and then went home to see if it was available at my library. No luck. I ended up in a different Barnes and Noble a few days later and was pleasantly surprised to find the same book on sale there. For $5, I gave in and bought it. It’s a story about a woman in her mid-20s who is entered into a TV cupcake competition by her close, male friend, who she then brings along as her assistant. As I began reading, it also became clear that this was a faith-based novel, which is an added bonus! So far it’s light, airy, and fun!411lb1TSVkL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
  • A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet – The Distant Hours by Kate Morton. This is my current work book and I unfortunately can’t say I’m enjoying it. The story jumps between present day and World War II and centers around an old manor house and the family who still lives there. Kate Morton usually finishes strong, so I’m hoping it will get better.6746018
  • A book with a one-word title – I’m considering Room by Emma Donoghue. It got a lot of buzz a while ago, but I never got around to reading it. It’s also a bit outside my normal easy fiction genre.7937843
  • A banned book – In Cold Blood, Truman Capote. This book was banned in Georgia and seems like an interesting story. I think I’m developing an affinity for stories of small-town murders after watching the TV show, Fargo (which is fascinating, by the way). I also hope to watch the movie, In Cold Blood, and Truman Capote’s biographical movie, Capote, after I’m done with the book.0375507906
  • A book with more than 500 pages – Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell. I first came across this book in a post by one of my favorite book bloggers: Modern Mrs. Darcy. When I saw this category in the challenge, I knew it’d be a perfect excuse to dive in.61O-8TwlGvL
  • A book that takes place in your hometown – I just finished a book called The Blue Orchard that was recommended by my mom AND is set in Harrisburg, PA (TWO CATEGORIES!), but I want to stick with the goal that I will not count books that I already finished reading before I officially started the challenge. So, now I’m stuck. I might broaden the “hometown” area to include Lancaster since I do love a good Beverly Lewis Amish novel.

Have you read any of the books I listed above? Did you ever come across a book set in your hometown and read it just for that reason?

Leave a Reply

