Reading RoundUp #3

Happy Friday! It’s been a glorious (shortened!) week due to the Labor Day holiday, but I’m still ready for a two day break. After the US Open trip, I’m looking forward to a relaxing weekend at home. The only event on our calendar is the Lehigh Valley Wine Trail Harvest Weekend. A number of local wineries are offering food pairings and entertainment in addition to their normal tasting sessions, so we’re planning to check a few out on Sunday. Hopefully it doesn’t rain! Although rainy days are a good excuse to read all day ;).  With that said, here’s what I’ve been reading lately:

leaves

Work Book (for lunch time reading):

The Distant Hours by Kate Morton – I’m about halfway through this one and still not as engrossed as I’ve been with her other books. I guess there’s always one or two options from every beloved author that don’t quite inspire the usual reaction. I’m enjoying the flashbacks to the beginning of World War II, but don’t feel connected to the characters. At this point, I’m just trying to get through it so I can start a new book.

Apartment Books:

The House of the Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne – Finally made it halfway through! I’m forcing myself to read 10-20 pages each night before devouring my more exciting novels. Probably not the best approach to reading, but I think that’s the only way I’ll finish this. I had a similar experience with The Scarlet Letter in which I enjoyed the plot, but felt Hawthorne was far too wordy and philosophical. I must be more of a get-to-the-point reader!

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty – Moriarty seems to pop up on every book list I’ve seen in 2015 and I’m starting to see why. I started reading this on Tuesday night and am already over halfway through. The novel started out a bit confusing since Moriarty jumps quickly back and forth between different characters’ points of view, but once you become familiar with their families and relationships to each other, you can settle in and enjoy the story. The secret is revealed fairly early in the book, so I’m curious how the rest of the novel will play out.

Kindle Books:

Dead Wake by Erik Larson – At about a quarter of the way through, I’m finding this much more interesting than Larson’s, Devil in the White City. He still provides a lot of historical context, but learning about the ship’s background and the naval influence in World War I is more exciting to me than the construction of the World’s Fair in Chicago. I ended up running out of time on my library loan, so I’m hoping I can borrow it again soon!

From around the web:

Literary Classics Quiz – A fun quiz to see how well you remember the classics,

40 Pumpkin Recipes – Pumpkin is back!! That Paradise Pumpkin Pie is now sitting at the top of my baking list.

Fiorina In Republican Debate – Looking forward to seeing how she performs on the main stage next week.

Leave a Reply

