Reading Challenge Update #2

We’re heading out on our New England road trip tomorrow (!!), so I’ll be out of commission for a few days. Here’s another Reading Challenge update before I go. I’m hoping to use those twelve hours in the car to get lots more reading accomplished 🙂

READ:

  • A book that scares you – The Shining by Stephen King. I really enjoyed the book… and then watched the movie and was disappointed by how different it was.

4

  • A book based entirely on its cover – All’s Fair in Love and Cupcakes by Betsy St Amant. A cheery romance about a woman in her mid-20s who is entered into a TV cupcake competition by her close, male friend, who she then brings along as her assistant. As I began reading, it also became clear that this was a faith-based novel, which is an added bonus! A light, airy, and fun read!

411lb1TSVkL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

  • A book based on or turned into a TV showWhen Calls the Heart by Janette Oke. The second season of this show just wrapped up on Lifetime. The show is loosely based on this book series, but at least captures the essence of a city girl who accepts a teaching job in the Canadian West in the early 1900’s. Needless to say, I adored both the book and the TV series.

51S6Z6lF38L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

  • A book set in a different countryThe Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty, set in Australia. This novel drew me in quickly and I finished it in just three days. The highlight is the relationships among the large cast of characters and how their individual, sometimes seemingly immaterial, decisions impacted each other’s lives.

17802724

IN PROGRESS:

  • A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet – The Distant Hours by Kate Morton. This is my current work book and I unfortunately can’t say I’m enjoying it. The story jumps between present day and World War II and centers around an old manor house and the family who still lives there. Kate Morton usually finishes strong, so I’m hoping it will get better.6746018
  • A book that takes place in your hometown – A Lancaster County Christmas by Suzanne Fisher. A struggling “Englisch” couple end up stranded with an Amish family for Christmas.

51v4jM4XGNL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_

  • A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’tThe House of the Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne. This has been a bit of a struggle, but I’m hoping to finish the last 75 pages before we visit the actual house in Salem. Thank goodness I have a deadline since that is the only thing motivating me to keep reading.

51TqfvN020L._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_

PLANNED:

  • A book with magicThe Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. Jay flew through the first two books in the series and casually likened it to Harry Potter, so I’d like to give it a shot. This is gives me an opportunity to try out a different genre. Amazon describes it as a coming-of-age tale of the boy who grows up to be the world’s most notorious magician.

514LJcIGpfL._SX300_BO1,204,203,200_

  • A book with a one-word title – I’m considering Room by Emma Donoghue. It got a lot of buzz a while ago, but I never got around to reading it. It’s also a bit outside my normal easy fiction genre.7937843
  • A banned book – In Cold Blood by Truman Capote, banned in Georgia. I think I’m developing an affinity for stories of small-town murders after watching the TV shows, Fargo and Twin Peaks (both of which are fascinating, by the way). I also hope to watch the movie, In Cold Blood, and Truman Capote’s biographical movie, Capote, after I’m done with the book.0375507906
  • A book with more than 500 pages – Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke. I first came across this book in a post by one of my favorite book bloggers: Modern Mrs. Darcy. When I saw this category in the challenge, I knew it’d be a perfect excuse to dive in.61O-8TwlGvL

What books are you planning to read this weekend? Any last minute suggestions for Hartford, Portland, or Salem?

Leave a Reply

