Reading RoundUp #4

Only a few more hours until the weekend! I am certainly counting down since I’ll be heading to Baltimore to celebrate my friend’s bachelorette party!!! Besides getting ready for that, it has been a busy two weeks since my last update! As you can see from my recent posts, we had a great time in New England, but I didn’t get as much reading done as I expected… I was kept busy giving directions and looking out the window. However, I did finish up a few books and started some new ones this week. Here’s my current reading round up:

20150920_155318

Work Book (for lunch time reading):

Murder at Wittenham Park by R.W. Heber – I finally sucked it up and picked a book to satisfy the “Author with your initials” category. My selection method was simply going to the H section of the library and looking for any books written by a person with a first name that started with R. There was hardly anything to choose from, so I settled on this murder mystery. I’m almost finished and am happy it was a quick read, even if not particularly enthralling.

Number the Stars by Lois Lowry – I only read The Giver a year ago, so I wanted to pick up another Lois Lowry classic. Still in the very early stages of this one, but I can tell I’m going to fly through it.

Apartment Books:

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss – This is my favorite book that I’m reading right now, so I’m returning to it much more often than the others. It’s a fascinating story of a young magician set in a Game of Thrones type world.

Kindle Books:

Dead Wake by Erik Larson – The library loan on this just ended for the second time. I’m only about 11% through and debating whether I want to borrow it again. There’s a good chance I may scrap this book and pick a different one published in 2015. I’m taking it as a bad sign that it’s been over a month and I still can’t get into it.

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote– This book is much more promising. So far, the story is jumping back and forth between descriptions of the victims’ family life and preparations by the two I’m assuming are the killers. I just reached the part where the townsfolk discovered the bodies, so I’m wondering how the rest of the book will play out.

From around the web:

Book-ish Halloween Costumes – Loving these ideas!

Authors to Binge Read – Absolutely agree with Kate Morton and Liane Moriarty

20 Places to Travel This Fall – Certainly some unique options in here. Open House London would probably be my pick. Such a neat idea!

2-Ingredient Pumpkin Cookies – I’m trying these out tonight…hope they taste as good as they look.

What are you looking forward to this weekend?

 

Leave a Reply

