Stitch Fix Review – October 2015

My second Stitch Fix package arrived last week and it was just as good as my first one! Stitch Fix (<–referral link!) is a personal styling service and is ideal for someone like me, who hates shopping, never tries anything out of my comfort zone, and has no idea how to style the pieces I actually own! It’s also great if you don’t have time to shop, are looking for specific items each season, or just love new clothing in general!

When you sign up, you take an in-depth survey about your clothing sizes, style, and pricing preferences. After reviewing this information, your personal stylist will send you 5 items to try. The fee for this service is $20, which includes free shipping and free returns. If you keep any of the items they send you, you get to deduct the $20 fee from the total. (If you keep all five items, you also get a 25% discount!)

20150812_170204

Now that you have all the basics… on to my experience!

This time around, my note to my stylist focused on fall work outfits. I specifically wanted a sweater dress and a non-pencil skirt. I updated my Pinterest board to include dresses, skirts, and fall outfits that caught my eye. Make sure to update your board often! I’d also recommend following StitchFix on Pinterest so you can re-pin any clothing they highlight. It just might show up in your box!

20150929_165635

Once again, I found myself eagerly awaiting the day my box would arrive and wished I had scheduled it sooner! When you receive your box, you have three days to decide what items you want to keep and what items you want to return. There is a “Checkout” option in your online account to let them know what you’re keeping (and paying for) and provide feedback on all the clothes. This is another great opportunity to tell your stylist about your likes/dislikes. Your credit card is only charged for the items you keep (minus the $20 styling fee!). A USPS bag (for the free shipping) is provided in the box to return the other items. I also figured out that the USPS will pick up packages from your doorstep, so I didn’t even have to make a trip to the post office!

Here’s what I received in my second box:

Leaf Necklace ($28) – This is a long gold leaf necklace (apologies for the terrible pictures) that I really like, but I think I can find something similar for less money. This isn’t the type of necklace I’d have tried on my own, so I’m very happy my stylist sent it. RETURN

20150930_165819

Crew Neck Sweater ($68) – I was torn about whether or not I should keep this sweater. It is extremely soft and heavy, making it perfect for cold winter days, but it didn’t have the fitted shape that I like. It was a great sweater for lounging, but at $68, I couldn’t justify it. RETURN

20150930_165903

Rebekah Blazer ($88) –  This is my favorite item from this box!! I like the look of blazers, but never felt comfortable picking one out for myself. My stylist knocked it out of the park both with the fit and style. It’s 3/4 length sleeves which is great for my long arms and has a polka dot pattern on the inside that peeks out when you roll the sleeves : ). Plus, it exactly matches the blue dress from my previous Stitch Fix so I can wear it with the dress to the wedding this weekend! KEEP

DSC01574

 

Haneli Polka Dot Swing Skirt ($54) –  This high waisted skirt is another winner. It almost touches my knees, so it’s a good length for work and is lined, making it feel more substantial. Now I just have to figure out what to wear with it… KEEP

DSC01491

 

Gilli Striped Dress ($78) – I was skeptical about this dress as soon as I pulled it out of the box. Since I had asked for a sweater dress, I was a bit disappointed that I received this one instead. It wasn’t horrible, but the material is clingy and I wouldn’t feel comfortable wearing something that tight to work.  RETURN

20150930_165526

This box was another hit for me and the dress was the only item I didn’t consider keeping. Even more than than before, this box contained pieces that I wouldn’t have picked out for myself, but absolutely love. This service has certainly lived up to it’s reputation!

Try it out for yourself HERE!

Check out my other Stitch Fix reviews below:

Stitch Fix – August 2015

Stitch Fix – December 2015

And reviews by other bloggers here.

6 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review – October 2015

    1. Good outfit suggestions! Looking forward to seeing your next blog post about your Fix! I want to start taking pictures of me in the clothes, but have to figure out how to make that work…

      Like

      1. It’s ridiculously hard to take pictures of yourself in clothes and make them look good. I have a degree in photography and cannot do this! I can’t figure out how people look so cute in their pictures!! ha! Just posted my review.

        Like

  1. Also, I now wish I would’ve kept the necklace. I’ve tried finding something similar in a few stores and had no luck. Lesson learned : (

    Like

Leave a Reply

