Reading RoundUp #5

Happy Friday everyone! Once again I’ve got a long car ride coming up this weekend, which means an important decision about which book(s) to bring along!  Here are my options based on what I’m currently reading:

Work Book (for lunch time reading):

What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty. This is the second Moriarty novel I’ve read and I’m flying through it just like the first one. She has a way of quickly drawing you into the characters’ lives so that you can’t help but read faster to find out what happens to them. The premise behind this story is a 39 year old woman who hits her head and loses all memories from the past 10 years. She wakes up thinking she’s 29, living happily with her husband and pregnant with their first child. To her surprise, her reality is a pending divorce, three kids, and a new awful personality.

Apartment Books:

Different Seasons by Stephen King – I’m about 3/4 of the way through Apt Pupil and am thoroughly enjoying it. It’s different more what I expected – more focus on the relationship between the German and the young boy rather than detailed accounts of his time as a Nazi. The short story format is also surprising me. I don’t feel like I’m missing out on any plot/character development despite the length. This one’s coming along on my trip, so I should make decent progress this weekend!

The Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore – To be honest, this is a book that I bought for a $1 at a used book sale and don’t really feel like reading. Not entirely sure why I bought it in the first place, but at least now it fits into the “Book at the bottom of your reading list” category. It’s a novel about a college student who becomes a babysitter for a couple adopting a child and the story weaves it way through their interactions with each other in post-9/11 America.

Kindle Books:

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote– This book is much more promising. So far, the story is jumping back and forth between descriptions of the victims’ family life and preparations by the two I’m assuming are the killers. I just reached the part where the townsfolk discovered the bodies, so I’m wondering how the rest of the book will play out.

From around the web:

Diet Confessions – Some of these are spot on (::cough cough:: Nutella!)

The best 90’s kids books – So many good memories from this list : )

Weekend Bags – I’m in the market for a roomy weekender bag and love the design of a lot of these, just need to find cheaper versions! Any suggestions?

Are you starting any new books this weekend?

 

Leave a Reply

