Reading RoundUp #6

After a ridiculously busy weekend (game night, wedding, trick-or-treating, birthday party, and bible study, oh my!), I relished my wide open schedule this week and got back to reading. With Jay out of town, I spent the majority of my evenings on the couch curled up with a book and a blanket. Here’s what’s on my list this week:

Snacks within reach of the couch...of course
Snacks within reach of the couch…of course

Work Book (for lunch time reading):

A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore – Thank goodness this one’s coming off the list today (only 20 pages to go!) This is a pretty quick read, but I just don’t care about the main characters. There is an unexpected plot twist 2/3 through the book which slightly redeems the story. However, it’s not enough to make up for the pages and pages of attempts at enlightened college student ramblings.

Apartment Books:

Different Seasons by Stephen King – I finished Apt Pupil a week or two ago, but have yet to get started on a new “season.” Apt Pupil was entertaining and had just the right amount of twisted horror without being too creepy or gruesome.

Garlic and Sapphires by Ruth Reichl – I discovered this book on a list of recommended memoirs on Modern Mrs. Darcy’s blog. Ruth is (was?) the restaurant critic for the New York Times and she describes her experiences going undercover as she attempts to review restaurants anonymously. So far, it’s a fascinating look into the life of a food critic and the politics involved in working at such a prestigious newspaper.

Room by Emma Donaghue – I finally made a trip to the library to snag this book. In two nights I’ve made it over halfway through and can’t seem to put it down. The book started a bit slow while the child described their day-to-day life, but picked up as the mom began to tell her side of the story. The plot also took a different turn than I expected about halfway through. As a result, it’s turning into a fascinating read that I’d highly recommend.

Kindle Books:

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote – Oops, I kind of have forgotten about this one. I need to see if I can rent it again from the library’s ebook catalogue…

From around the web:

Wedding Locations for Book-Lovers – How could you pick just one?? I choose #1… #8…hmm and #11 (obviously, I mean – Jane Austen).

Holiday Time-Saving Hacks – It’s almost Christmas!!!

Baking Substitutes – Now that the grocery store is a whole 10 (!!) minutes away, this might come in handy.

Check out other reading round ups on Modern Mrs. Darcy!

When do you start getting ready for Christmas? Which wedding location would you pick? 

 

Leave a Reply

