Reading RoundUp #7

This has been a great week for reading! I absolutely fell head over heels for a new novel I picked up called Ready Player One, laughed along with Mindy Kaling’s new memoir and am finally making progress on In Cold Blood. Plus, there was a great book sale at my library (I’ll show off what we bought in an upcoming post)! This week also included a hockey game and a free trip to our local zoo’s winter lights event courtesy of my work. Tonight and tomorrow we’ll be getting ready to host our bible study’s Christmas party. I just adore this time of year!

20151210_175731

Here’s the recap of my current books:

Work Book (for lunch time reading):

Timeline by Michael Crichton – Yes, I’ve read this before but it has to have been almost ten years ago. I don’t remember anything that happens, which is keeping it exciting!

Apartment Books:

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – This book has been popping up in book blogs/articles lately and the premise of a virtual reality treasure hunt piqued my interest. And now I can’t put it down. It’s takes place thirty years in the future where everyone participates in a virtual reality world. When the inventor of this world dies, he leaves behind a challenge: the first person to complete his quest and unlock the puzzles will win his entire fortune. The inventory is an avid 80’s geek, so the book is littered with references to that decade…an added bonus in my opinion!

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens – The classic tale of orpahn Pip and his rise from poverty to riches has been a delight, thus far.

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke -This book is a monster. It was featured on a list of lengthy books worth reading and I thought it’d fit perfectly in the Read a Book Over 500 Pages category of my challenge. It’s a tale of two English wizards in the days of Napoleon… historical fiction with a bit of fantasy thrown in.

Kindle Books:

In Cold Blood by Truman Capote – After at least two months, I’m almost 3/4 of the way through this book (this progress was helped along by a lengthy car appointment). Admittedly, I’m skimming some details, but it’s finally picked up enough to keep me interested. They’ve just captured the alleged killers and are attempting to build their case against them.

Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling – Her first memoir was adorable and funny, so I was hoping this would live up to her debut. It has. It’s not a literary classic, but it’s lighthearted and sounds just like her. If you like her as a person, you’ll enjoy her writing.

From around the web:

Tips for Welcoming Guests – I’m a terrible host, so I’m keeping this article bookmarked.

Literary Locations Quiz – I only got 6 out of 11 : /

Do you have any Christmas-y plans this weekend? I love hearing what everyone does to celebrate the holidays!

Check out what other bloggers are reading at Modern Mrs Darcy.

 

Leave a Reply

