Book Sale Finds

Since last weekend featured temperatures in the mid 50’s, Jay and I ventured out of our apartment quite a bit. We went for a run along the river (I surprised myself and ran a 5k), stopped at Sam’s Club for the weekly groceries (including a 12 variety cheesecake platter!), and most importantly, visited the local library book sale!!

This was our first experience at the Easton Library’s sale and we were both impressed. The sale ran from Friday – Monday, with a preview day for the Friends of the Library on Thursday. Side note, I’m seriously considering donating to become a Friend of the Library just for that perk… Anyway, we got there just after it opened on Saturday morning and were pleasantly surprised with the selection.

The two rooms were divided into very specific sections (including books that inspired TV shows/movies and books written by international authors). The prices were pretty easy to figure out…everything was $1! Before we even had any questions, one of the ladies working the sale came over and explained that the only items that weren’t $1 were children’s books for $.50 and a few signed copies of books.

Here are the books we picked up:

20151211_090849

Collection of Vintage Books including Lamb’s Tales From Shakespeare, King Arthur and his Knights, Gulliver’s Travels, and Heidi. I’ll admit I wanted these because they looked pretty : ) The Shakespeare book appears to be a translation into more modern, easy to read English, which I may dive into since most of Shakespeare’s poetry goes right over my head.

Fiction Writer’s Workshop by Josip Novakovich – Jay chose this one since he’s working on writing his own novel.

Stories Not For the Nervous by Alfred Hitchcock – We had no idea Hitchcock wrote a book, so this was picked purely to satisfy our curiosity and see if his stories are as good as his movies.

20151211_091003

A Room of Your Own by Virginia Woolf – Having just finished Woolf’s most famous story, Mrs. Dalloway, I am looking forward to trying out another one of her works.

Life with Women & How to Survive It by Joseph Peck – I mean, the title pretty much explains it all.  This was written in 1962 and seems like a pretty funny read.

The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde – I’d heard of this book before, but never noticed it at a book sale. For $1, I thought it was worth a shot. This is the first book in a series featuring English literary detective, Thursday Next.

My Life in France by Julia Child – I borrowed this autobiography from the library a few years ago after reading Julie and Julia (an absolute favorite of mine). I remember enjoying this book immensely, so I was pleased to find it here.

Super Review French – The sale had a small section of foreign language books and I was hoping to find a French one that included exercises you could complete within the book. This fit the bill perfectly. It may be a bit outdated, but the basics of the language remain the same.

Parenting Young Athletes the Ripken Way by Cal Ripken Jr – Jay stumbled upon this book and was thrilled to find something like this exists. He’s a huge Ripken fan, so I imagine this’ll be fun to read once we have kids.

Yes Chef by Marcus Samuelsson – After reading the memoirs of the New York Times food critic, I’m eager to learn more about chefs and the restaurant industry. His story of growing up and learning to cook in his adopted grandmother’s house through to his success in New York City and beyond seems fascinating.

Have you read any of these books before? What books have you picked up lately from your local library sale?

2 thoughts on “Book Sale Finds

  1. I love the picture of your tree, however, I’m pretty sure that I bought you a tree skirt to put around it, just wondering where it is 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

