Stitch Fix Review – January 2016

Last week I received my fourth Stitch Fix box on my doorstep (two days early!) Stitch Fix (<–referral link!) is a personal styling service that is ideal for someone like me who hates shopping, never tries anything out of my comfort zone, and has no idea how to style the pieces I actually own! It’s also great if you don’t have time to shop, are looking for specific items each season, or just love new clothing in general!

When you sign up, you take an in-depth survey about your clothing sizes, style, and pricing preferences. After reviewing this information, your personal stylist will send you 5 items to try. The fee for this service is $20, which includes free shipping and free returns. If you keep any of the items they send you, you get to deduct the $20 fee from the total (if you keep all five items, you also get a 25% discount!)

20160111_164248

Now that you have all the basics… click through for my review of my 4th box!

In the past, I asked for a few specific things in the note to my stylist. However, this time I didn’t include a note at all…a combination of being lazy and not really needing anything. I also didn’t add much to my Pinterest board since last month. Well, those were probably both mistakes. As a general note, make sure to keep an eye on your Pinterest board and update it at least once a season to give your stylist even more ideas of what you’d like to see in your box. I’d also recommend following StitchFix on Pinterest so you can re-pin any clothing they feature. It just might show up in your box!

20160111_164557

When you receive your box, you have three days to decide what items you want to keep and what items you want to return. There is a “Checkout” option in your online account to let them know what you’re keeping (and paying for) and provide feedback on all the clothes. This is another great opportunity to tell your stylist about your likes/dislikes. Your credit card is only charged for the items you keep (minus the $20 styling fee!). A USPS bag (for the free shipping) is provided in the box to return the other items. I also discovered that USPS will pick up packages from your doorstep, so I didn’t even have to make a trip to the post office!

Here’s what I received in my fourth box:

20160111_164642

Colleen Straight Leg Jean ($78) – There are a pair of black skinny jeans already sitting in my drawer that I have yet to wear, so I knew these would have to be absolutely perfect for me to keep them. They weren’t. A bit too small and at least three inches too short. Sometimes I hate being tall… RETURN

DSC01665
Check out my ankles! That’d be scandalous in a Jane Austen novel.

Anita Feather Pendant Necklace ($28) – I must need to update the jewelry pictures on Pinterest because this is the third piece of leaf jewelry that I’ve received. Since I have a few similar pieces I wasn’t planning to keep it, but I didn’t like anything else in this Fix, so I’ll probably just pay the $8 (applying the $20 credit from the styling fee).  KEEP (somewhat reluctantly)

20160113_175148

Hickory Studded Collar Top ($54) – I really really want to find a plaid shirt, but this isn’t it. The studded collar is not my style and the shirt wasn’t long enough for my preference. RETURN

DSC01643

Beya Side Slit Pullover Sweater ($64) – I was hoping I’d love this sweater when I pulled it out of the box, but I tried it on and it was…not quite right. The massive side splits were strange and it was tight in the arms but loose around my body. It was cozy, but for $64 I want to feel comfortable wearing it out of the house. RETURN

DSC01637

Chaplin Lined Hooded Anorak Jacket ($94) – I’m a bit on the fence about this one. I probably do need a spring/fall jacket with a hood, but I don’t love certain parts of the jacket (what are those ties for?) If it was cheaper, I’d consider it but at this price point it’s not worth it. RETURN

DSC01647

Well, after three successful boxes I guess it can be expected that I’d get a dud sooner rather than later. Note to self to add more pins to my Style board on Pinterest and have a few specific items in mind to request from my stylist for my next box.

If you’re interested, try it out for yourself HERE! Check out my other Stitch Fix reviews below:

Stitch Fix – December 2015

Stitch Fix – October 2015

Stitch Fix – August 2015

If you want to see Stitch Fix reviews from other bloggers, check out this linkup!

 

5 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review – January 2016

    1. Sorry to hear about your last box. It’s so disappointing when you don’t like anything. Oh well, guess it’s bound to happen. The shoes are from Kohls! I wear them basically every day : )

      Like

  1. This comment “Check out my ankles! That’d be scandalous in a Jane Austen novel.” made me giggle! 🙂 I love Jane Austen. I love the necklace and pinned it to my Stitch Fix board.

    Like

Leave a Reply

