Reading RoundUp #9

We’ve reached another Friday and I’m extra thankful because I have a great weekend coming up! Most of my weekend will be spent on a women’s retreat with my mom and a group of women from the church I grew up in. This is my first retreat, so I’m excited to see what God has in store for us! Then Jay and I are off to a Super Bowl party with our friends on Sunday. Here’s hoping for funny commercials (obviously the only reason to watch…)

In other news, I finally made a trip to the library and picked up some new books! Let’s take a look at what I’m reading:

Stack-of-books-great-education

Work Book (for lunch time reading):

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley – This is my choice for the reading challenge category “a book you started but never finished.” It’s another dystopian type novel which is set in a future where people are essentially manufactured and programmed to be happy in whatever level of society they are placed. The ideas within this book are amazing considering it was written in 1932.

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon – Since I’m almost finished with Brave New World, I figured I’d list my next work book too. I FLEW through Outlander and am hoping the second book in the series will be just as captivating. Unfortunately I can’t say the same for the TV series. We’re about halfway through and it’s tortuously slow. Has anyone else seen it??

Apartment Books:

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne – This has been on my radar for a while, especially once it was turned into a movie. It’s a quick read about a young German boy who’s Dad becomes Commandant of a Nazi concentration camp. I haven’t read much yet, but I’m curious how they’ll depict the conditions in the camp through both the eyes of this German boy and the Jewish boy who lives inside.

Cocktails for Three by Madeleine Wickham – Madeleine Wickham is the pen name for Sophie Kinsella, author of the Shopoholic series. I’ve read most of her books and typically find them enjoyable chick-lit. Hopefully this one will follow those same lines. The plot follows three friends who meet once a month for cocktails to discuss the drama in their lives.

Misery by Stephen King – While browsing through the library I came across this novel from the master of horror. I read it a long time ago but don’t remember much of the story, so I decided to pick it up again!

Kindle Books:

No Kindle books – I have books on hold at three different libraries, but none have come through for me yet. 😦 It’s certainly helping me learn the virtue of patience…

From around the web:

Literary Dresses – Iconic dresses from movies based on a variety of books.

Royalty in Literature Quiz – I’m a sucker for quizzes about books. I did awful on this one, though…

Stephen King’s Views on The Shining Movie – Yes! I cannot agree more with King and his disgust for the movie adaptation.

Check out what other bloggers are reading at Modern Mrs Darcy’s linkup.

What are you currently reading? If you’ve read the book, did you like The Shining movie?

Leave a Reply

