Book Buys – March 2016

While Jay was in China, I took the opportunity to visit a few of the local antique and book shops in downtown Easton. I ended up just wishing our apartment was double its size in order to fit all the neat furniture I found…in particular a gorgeous old card catalogue. Maybe someday!

I did end up with a few new to me books from the bookstores. Unfortunately I was blocked from the fiction section in one store due to a poetry reading. Really not my thing…and it pissed me off that it kept me from browsing those books! But I digress…This month I also surprisingly purchased a few new books online from Amazon and Abe Books. Despite my stinginess, there’s something to be said for the more immediate gratification that comes with online shopping.

Check out my March book haul!

Amazon:

20160315_211448

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – Yes, I’ve already read this, but I shelled out the money for the awesome hardcover copy since I knew I’d be reading it over and over again in the future.

The Greatest Gift by Ann Voskamp – A recommendation from a fellow blogger. I wasn’t expecting the devotional format, so I’m not sure if I’ll start this soon or wait until the Christmas season when it’s meant to be read.

Local Bookstores:

20160315_211554

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis – I’m trying to build up my C.S. Lewis collection and was thrilled to find a great copy for $2.

Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell – Well, I own this novel already but the copy I bought is gorgeous and only cost $5!!

Night by Elie Wiesel – This has been on my to-be-read list for a while. At $2 for the hardcopy, it was a steal.

Moneyball by Michael Lewis – Another one I’ve read already. Another one I hope to read again, though (and convince Jay to read)!

Abe Books:

20160315_211720

A Man Called Ove by Frederik Backman – Modern Mrs. Darcy introduced me to this book. It’s about a grumpy old guy but apparently will move you to tears. I couldn’t find it at the library in either physical or ebook form, so I caved and bought it new.

Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller – Another book I couldn’t find through my library resources. Unfortunately, I probably should have held off on this one. It was a decent story, but not one worth owning.

What books have you purchased lately?

 

*I earn a small commission for any books purchased using the links throughout this post. Thank you for supporting my reading habit : )

Check out other literary posts from book bloggers at this linkup!

3 thoughts on “Book Buys – March 2016

  1. Great finds! I like that classy-looking Gone with the Wind. Just today I bought The Nesting Place by Myquillyn Smith at the “Friends of the Library” book sale for $1 and it’s still in great condition. It was like winning the lottery!

    Like

Leave a Reply

